Record Store Day is April 20, 2024 Click the banner for RSD FAQ at Curious Collections!

New Releases for July 1

By: the_home_for_wayward_records


Fleet Foxes - A Very Lonely Solstice [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Clear 2LP] - Robin Pecknold brings light to the bleakest of winters with Fleet Foxes' 'A Very Lonely Solstice,' a 13-track career spanning collection recorded in December 2020, at Brooklyn, NY's St. Ann & the Holy Trinity Church. The recording was originally broadcasted as a live-stream event on the winter solstice of 2020, just days after New York declared a state of emergency tightening restrictions again in response to increasing COVID-19 cases. Selections cover all four of the band's studio albums, including their 2008 self-titled debut album ("Tiger Mountain Peasant Song") to 2011's Helplessness Blues ("Blue Spotted Tail") and 2017's Crack-Up ("If You Need To, Keep Time On Me"), all the way to their latest release, Shore.


Guided By Voices - Tremblers And Goggles By Rank - Their 36th album, the 13th with their current lineup and their 2nd of 2022, Tremblers And Goggles By Rank is set to continue the fantastic run of form that GBV has been on for the last few years. WIth the onset of this newest incarnation in 2017, this run of 13 albums has been as good and prolific as any this band has ever had. Those may be fightin’ words to some folks, but it’s something I stand by 100%.


Aqualung (2011 Steven Wilson Stereo Remix) [Clear Vinyl] - An all time rock & roll classic, Aqualung gets the Steven Wilson remix treatment this July. As hot a producer as their is in music right now, Wilson (Steven Wilson/Porcupine Tree) always has a special approach that brings out elements of an album you might have previously missed. There’s such depth in this album already, I can’t wait to hear what he finds and brings out in this mix.


Seven Psalms (10in) [Limited Edition] - Seven Psalms is a new series of spoken word pieces set to music that was created in collaboration with Warren Ellis. The project comprises seven spoken word cuts along with a 12-minute instrumental. “While in lockdown I wrote a number of psalms, or small, sacred songs—one a day for a week,” Nick Cave explained of ‘Seven Psalms’ in a statement.The seven psalms are presented as one long meditation—on faith, rage, love, grief, mercy, sex and praise. A veiled, contemplative offering borne of an uncertain time. I hope you like it.”


Roxy Music - Avalon (Half Speed Mastered) - Avalon is the final studio album from Roxy Music. Released in 1982, it offered a smoother, more adult-oriented sound, giving us the now iconic singles, "More Than This," and "Avalon." This vinyl reissue is mastered at half-speed and cut by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios. It also features revised artwork with a gloss laminated finish. 

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published