New Releases For July 30th

By: the_home_for_wayward_records


Billie Eilish - Happier Than Ever

Probably one of the most anticipated albums of the last few years, Happier Than Ever drops this week. Continuing the tradition from her multi-GRAMMY Award, record-breaking debut album WHEN WE ALL FALL ASLEEP, WHERE DO WE GO?, this album features no outside songwriters or producers, and was written by Billie and her brother FINNEAS who produced the album in LA. Includes hit singles "Therefore I Am" and "my future." 100% Recycled Black 2 LP. This should be MASSIVE.

*Order Happier Than Ever here*

House of Pain - House of Pain

Originally released in 1992, House of Pain was a huge hit. Driven by the singles Jump Around and Shamrocks & Shenanigans, their debut album went on to sell a few million copies. You still hear Jump Around all the time at sporting events. This is its first vinyl reissue.

*Order House Of Pain here*

Prince - Welcome 2 America

Recorded in the spring of 2010 and then mysteriously abandoned by Prince before its release, the statement album Welcome 2 America documents Princes’ concerns, hopes, and visions for a shifting society, presciently foreshadowing an era of political division, disinformation, and a renewed fight for racial justice. The album features some of Prince's only studio collaborations with the bassist Tal Wilkenfeld, drummer Chris Coleman, and engineer Jason Agel, with additional contributions from New Power Generation singers Shelby J, Liv Warfield, and Elisa Fiorillo and keyboardist Morris Hayes, who Prince also recruited to co-produce the album. The vinyl edition has the 12 songs spread across three sides on 2 LPs in gorgeous gatefold packaging, with a custom etching on the fourth side.There’s also a multiple LP deluxe edition available.

*Order Welcome 2 America*

Son Volt - Electro Melodier

Alt-Country pioneers Jay Farrar & Son Volt return two years after releasing Union, with their tenth album Electro Melodier in July. The album features a new group of personal reflections and socio-political songs from frontman Jay Farrar, who originally set out to make a nostalgic record that paid tribute to the music of his youth. Jay has been in quite a renaissance of late, so this should be a fantastic album.

*Order Electro Melodier here*


The Beach Boys - Feel Flows: The Sunflower & Surf's Up Sessions 1969–1971

The Beach Boys’ spellbinding 1971 song “Feel Flows” may be the most famous obscure song in the band’s catalogue. On July 30, Capitol Records will release Feel Flows: The Sunflower and Surf’s Up Sessions 1969-1971.  This hardcover book-style set, to be released in 5-CD, 4-LP (standard black and translucent blue/translucent gold), 2-LP, and 2-CD editions (as well as digitally), explores in depth what’s perhaps the most adventurous and experimental period in the Beach Boys’ long history.  The 5-CD set features fully remastered versions of the original Sunflower (1970) and Surf’s Up (1971) albums – the band’s first two post-Capitol LPs as originally issued Brother Records via Reprise – plus copious outtakes, live recordings, alternate takes and mixes, and more for a total of 133 tracks.  Carl Wilson, Dennis Wilson, Mike Love, Al Jardine, and Bruce Johnston were all coming into their own within the group even as Brian Wilson was closing out the band’s “golden age” with stunning songs every bit the equal of his prodigious 1960s output. 

*Order FFTS&SUS  here*

The Lost Boys Soundtrack

The beloved soundtrack to the classic 80’s vampire movie, The Lost Boys, gets a new colored vinyl reissue this week. Pressed on Gold 180g vinyl, The Lost Boys features classic tracks by Echo & The Bunnymen, INXS, Gerard McMann & the sweaty sax player himself, Tim Capello. Now you can enjoy the sounds of Santa Carla and all the damn vampires.

*Order The Lost Boys here*

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published