Starting Spring Break With March 11th Releases

By: the_home_for_wayward_records

Duke Ellington & John Coltrane (Verve Acoustic Sounds) - This essential 1962 album showcases the modern jazz saxophone innovator performing alongside the colossus of jazz piano and composition. Only Coltrane could be this "fiercely tender" and there's no better forum for his sensitive side than the music of Ellington and Billy Strayhorn, who contributes the album's true gem, "My Little Brown Book." Verve Acoustic Sounds Series features all-analog, remastered 180-gram vinyl in deluxe gatefold packaging. This series is absolutely astounding, sound-wise, and are definitive pressings.

Ghost - Impera - Ghost, one of the most esteemed and celebrated rock bands in the world today, return with their fifth psalm, IMPERA, fronted by the newly anointed Papa Emeritus IV. A dozen songs take on themes of isolation and demigod worship, as well as colonization of both space and mind. And all with the infectious hooky brand of rock their fans have grown accustomed to. There are a ton of different color pressings of this one, but each comes in a gatefold sleeve with a 28 page booklet.


Pailhead - Trait - The complete recordings from the short-lived side project of Ministry's Al Jourgensen and Fugazi's Ian MacKaye!Combining Jourgensen's industrial production with MacKaye's punk rock inspired guitar playing and songwriting, Pailhead burned bright in it's short existence, recording and releasing just 6 tracks!This collection includes a rare bonus mix as well as a brand new remix by The Mission/Peter Murphy guitarist Mark Gemini Thwaite!


PJ Harvey - The Hope Demolition Project  - The PJ Harvey reissue campaign arrives at her ninth LP, The Hope Demolition Project. Like the previous reissues, this one is accompanied by the demo version of the LP. To me, the demo versions have equalled if not topped the standard LP so far.


King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard - Live in London ‘19 - King Gizzard has released a slew of Live albums lately, and this is a new 3 LP entry. Recorded on October 5, 2019, Live In London is a 15 track sonic assault from the psychedelic rock and roll masters. If you are into this band, then you know you have to have this one.

Franz Ferdinand - Hits to the Head - The 20 track Greatest Hits collection from Franz Ferdinand finally gets a vinyl release this week. 18 classic tracks, 2 new tracks and an 18 page booklet in a Gatefold sleeve. I love this band, so I’d definitely recommend this one.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published