Daft Punk

Daft Punk - Tron:Legacy Soundtrack

While it is performed and written by Daft Punk, the score they made for Tron: Legacy isn’t a typical movie soundtrack and its also not a “normal” Daft Punk album. Mixing their normal electronic palette with an 85 piece orchestra, Tron:Legacy is interesting for its mix of sounds as much as it is for the actual music itself. 

Many of the tracks are sub 2-3 minutes in length and feel more like sketches than full blown songs, but that doesn’t keep them from being entertaining. The closest song to a traditional Daft Punk song is “Derezzed”, which was released as a single, and is probably my favorite track on the album. 

The music fits the movie perfectly, and at times feels a little odd without its context, but it’s a great look at a band operating outside of their norm and succeeding. It’s worth picking up if you’re a fan of Daft Punk or of movie scores, especially ones that present an interesting take on the genre.

Daft Punk - The Many Faces of Daft Punk

The series, “The Many Faces of…” help provide a look into other vectors of a bands success and influence, while also sharing pieces of work that we might not normally get to see.  The Many Faces of Daft Punk gives us a look at guest artists, side projects, remixes and the music genres that have been influenced by Daft Punk. It’s by no means comprehensive, but it does give us a great look at the art of remixing songs and how that can change the original songs intent or even how remixing allows an artist to do things that might not fall under their normal soundscapes.  

Over it’s 17 tracks, we hear the music of Franz Ferdinand, Nile Rodgers, Giorgio Moroder and even a bit of Parliament/Funkadelic mixed through the prism of Daft Punk and then we also get to hear some of the artists that influenced them, including Rapper’s Delight by The Sugar Hill Gang. It’s a good overview of how all of the sounds mesh together to form Daft Punk and how they ended up one of the most popular electronic bands on the planet.

Side A

1 Do What You Wanna Do (MYNC Radio Edit) Nile Rodgers

2 Mothership Reconnection (Daft Punk Mix) Scott Grooves Feat. Parliament/Funkadelic

3 Chase 2011 (Martin Brodin Dubbed Out Mix) Giorgio Moroder

4 Get Funky Get Down (Daft Punk Remix) The Micronauts

Side B

1 Disco Cubizm (Daft Punk Remix) I:Cube

2 Music Sounds Better With You (Esquire Radio Edit) Ruff Loaderz & Cut up Boys

3 Take Me Out (Daft Punk Remix) Franz Ferdinand

4 Get Lucky (5prite Remix) Karen Souza

LP2 - Roots & Influences

Side C

1 Supernature Cerrone

2 Magic Fly Space

3 Free Flight (Acos CoolKAs Synth Touch Mix) Acos CoolKAs

4 And The Beat Goes On The Whispers

5 You Got The Power War

Side D

1 White Russian (Lazy Summer) Sare Havlicek

2 Get Down Saturday Night Oliver Cheatham

3 Rapper´s Delight The Sugarhill Gang

4 Cuba Gibson Brothers

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published