Due to recent severe weather, the USPS distribution center in Houston is experiencing significant delays. Please allow extra time for your packages to be delivered or consider upgrading to UPS until further notice.

Tony Trischka* Earl Jam [New CD]

Tony Trischka* Earl Jam [New CD]

Regular price $17.99 Sale

Tony Trischka* Earl Jam [New CD]

Down The Road, 2024

Media: Mint, Factory Sealed

Sleeve: Mint, Factory Sealed

2024 release. One afternoon during the height of COVID, Tony Trischka opened a small package with a thumb drive. It contained some extremely rare recordings of Earl Scruggs and John Hartford jamming, mostly taken from private gatherings at Earl's house during the 1980s and 90s - over 200 songs and tunes - and Tony's mind was blown! He'd been studying Earl for over 60 years, but now he heard exciting new information in these solos, chock full of twists, turns and exciting revelations. Tony immediately began transcribing and learning his favorites. Inspired, he featured a number of these pieces as part of an overview of Earl's career, premiering the concept at the venerable Joe's Pub in New York City. When Down The Road's Ken Irwin heard a recording of the show, he and Tony agreed there should be an album of this unique material. Months later, we have that album recorded with guest vocalists Sam Bush, Dudley Connell, Michael Daves, Sierra Ferrell, The Gibson Brothers, Vince Gill, Del McCoury, Bruce Molsky, Billy Strings, and Molly Tuttle. Tony Trischka playing Earl Scruggs with today's leading bluegrass and old-time stars - an aural treat! Though the back-up Tony plays on this album is his own, inspired by Scruggs, every solo is note-for-note Earl's, from those jams. Tony felt that these tapes might never see the light of day, so he recorded this album in hopes that a host of others could experience the same excitement he felt on hearing Earl's "new" music. Ultimately, Tony's recreations of Scruggs's solos reflect the same kind of intensive woodshedding that Glenn Gould did with Bach's published scores.

  • 1 Brown's Ferry Blues
  • 2 San Antonio Rose
  • 3 Chinese Breakdown
  • 4 My Horses Ain't Hungry
  • 5 Roll on Buddy
  • 6 Freight Train Blues
  • 7 Casey Jones
  • 8 Dooley
  • 9 Cripple Creek
  • 10 Amazing Grace
  • 11 Lady Madonna
  • 12 Bury Me Beneath the Willow
  • 13 Shout Little Lulu
  • 14 Little Liza Jane
  • 15 Amazing Grace - Postlude

*All images are stock images unless otherwise indicated. Additional images available upon request. All items are from a retail environment. Most albums, even new, will show signs of shelf wear. Ships from the US. Same day shipping on most orders. Standard shipping and free shipping are sent USPS Media Mail and can take anywhere from 7 to 14 days to reach it's destination. If your order is time sensitive, please select UPS or expedited shipping.*